Lazy Friday

On Friday (November 6), all my students are online, so I have no reason to leave the house. I know I should go out for a walk, but it’s hard to feel motivated, and I end up staying home most of the day. My first student is from 4:00 to 5:00, with another from 6:30 to 7:30, and I realize that I’ll probably be too tired to feel like going out after 7:30. At another time, that would have been my cue to give up, but instead, I decide to fit in a quick walk between 5:00 and 6:30.

Since I’m under some time pressure, I don’t have a lot of choice of where to go. My best choice is to go west and make a loop around Wychwood Barns.

The sun has just set when I walk along Regal Road, past my old elementary school, and the sunset is beautiful. It’s a lovely and unseasonal 17 ºC (63 ºF), and I only wish the sunset would last a bit longer. It’s already fading when I reach Glenholme and start down the hill a few blocks later, and another few blocks after that, it’s dark. Despite the warm weather, it’s definitely winter!

I’m especially proud of myself tonight. Not only did I brush aside a trivial obstacle to get my walk, I managed to sustain an average pace under 12:00 min/km over a longer distance for the first time: 11:53 min/km over 3.88 kilometres. The walk takes just over 45 minutes, and I’m back in plenty of time for my second student.

Leave a comment