Saturday stroll

On Saturday my only real walk is between the houses of two students who live about 25 minutes apart. As usual, it’s boring because most of it is down Leslie Street. The only good thing about it is that my sister calls just as I’m starting, and we chat until I arrive. When I leave 90 minutes later, I call her back and we continue the conversation as I walk another 15 minutes to catch a bus along York Mills. Despite the distraction of a phone conversation, I manage a respectable average pace of 12:16 min/km over 3.30 kilometres. I feel like walking briskly is becoming my default—at least over downhill or flat ground. Progress!

I want to go back to Mount Pleasant Cemetery on my way home, but I’ve been having problems with my shoulder and by the time I get to St. Clair station, it’s bothering me so much I decide to just go home. I have a slight, nagging feeling that I should have tried to tough it out anyway, but mostly I feel like it was the right decision.

Unfortunately, the weather forcast for tomorrow is predicting heavy rain all day, so it looks like I’ll be taking another Sunday off. Oh well, it’s not a bad thing to have a regular day to rest and recover.

Leave a comment