Back to the ravine

On Wednesday (November 11), I have an unexpected day off. I have a lot to do around the house, so I don’t go for a walk until after 5:00 p.m., when the sun has set and it’s getting dark. On my way, I pass a house I’ve always liked.

I walk along Benson Avenue most of the way, then through Wychwood Barns and along Helena Avenue to Bathurst Street, then along Melgund Road and through Wells Hill Park, where I can see my destination through the trees.

Once I’m done with the grocery store, I cross St. Clair Avenue West and take the path into Nordheimer Ravine, which I visited a week ago. Last time, I stopped at the Spadina Road bridge, but I know from the map that the path continues south from there almost to Davenport Road.

I pass under the bridge. It looks quite bright in the photo above, but that’s just because my iPhone 11 Pro has excellent night vision. Even with all the streetlights, it’s quite dark in the ravine.

Looking back north after I pass under the Spadina Road bridge.

It only gets darker as I head south down the path, since this section isn’t lighted at all. My phone’s flashlight is the only light available. Partway down the trail, I meet a group of half a dozen or more women and children who seem to appear from nowhere. The kids are carying lanterns made from mason jars. They’re obviously more prepared than I am! I turn my flashlight towards the ground to avoid blinding them.

As I get to the end of the trail, I turn around and rest my phone on a fencepost to try to get a picture. Once again, the iPhone’s night mode makes it somewhat unsuccessful—the scene looks much, much brighter than it really was. The sky is almost a daytime blue.

The path ends at in a park on Boulton Drive. From there, I walk south, through a nameless park, up some stairs and into Glen Edyth Drive Parkette, just a few steps from Davenport Road. I’m planning to catch the bus home, but I still have a bit of energy, so I walk along Davenport for little while. When I pass Casa Loma, I notice it’s still blue, but behind the wall I can see Christmas lights around the trees. Although the weather is colder than it has been lately, it still seems to early for Christmas decorations. I stop and catch the bus when I get to Bathurst, and a few minutes later, I’m home.

Leave a comment